Sri Lanka apologise to India for Randiv’s no-ball


Reuters | Tue Aug 17, 2010 | 2:18pm IST

Sri Lanka Cricket has apologised to India opener Virender Sehwag after he was denied a century by Suraj Randiv’s no-ball in their tri-nations one-dayer at Dambulla on Monday. Needing one run for his century, Sehwag smacked the final delivery of the match off Randiv for a six but the umpire signalled a no-ball. India won the match by six wickets but Sehwag was left on 99.

Sri Lanka Cricket Secretary Nishantha Ranatunga said they were taking a very serious view of the incident and that he had spoken to Indian team manager Ranjib Biswal. “We have initiated an inquiry into the incident and called for a report from team manager Anura Tennekoon before taking further course of action,” said Ranatunga.

Biswal said that since India had received an apology they considered the matter closed. After the match Sehwag had accused Randiv of deliberately bowling the no-ball. “Yes, it was done deliberately,” he said. “It was not a small no-ball, not a small margin, from one foot ahead.

Advertisements

2 comments

  1. Trackback: Body Workout 101
  2. Trackback: World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s